World Indigenous Journalism Awards 2014

Submission Deadline: January 31, 2014

Call for Entries


WITBN’s World Indigenous Journalism Awards, WIJA, honors excellence in audio-visual journalism that demonstrates superior journalistic skills in a form and manner best representing Indigenous storytelling. WIJA especially acknowledges the significance of journalism that best delivers the Indigenous perspective and contributes to leverage the public understanding of the Indigenous reality nationally and internationally.

WIJA seeks to recognize and reward the best examples of professional journalism in Indigenous television and audiovisual media. In particular the awards will look to the portrayal of an Indigenous perspective on stories of local, national or international impact. Journalistic standards and ethics are the key component of this recognition. Examples of collaborative journalism between journalists of different Indigenous cultures, language, communities or news networks which elicited an authentic Indigenous perspective will be given special consideration.

WIJA Award Plaque

WIJA 2014 Category

WIJA2014 is opened to three categories.

  • Investigative Reporting: reporting by an individual or team, presented as a single broadcast news or series that uncover and/or delve into government policies, social justice, and general affairs critical to the Indigenous Peoples nationally or internationally.
  • International Reporting: news report that covers foreign Indigenous communities and/or issues that contributes to raise the awareness of issues affecting Indigenous rights, languages, and cultures. Entry for International Reporting can be a result of collaboration of news and resources among international organizations.
  • Best Videography: video and footage of news reporting and/or video journalism of high-quality techniques that best present the true and balanced image of the Indigenous Peoples.

Submission Guidelines


WIJA 2014 is currently opened to WITBN members only. All entries must be nominated by a WITBN member and must be taken from broadcast reports from any television broadcaster or through digital media outlets. Although eligibility is not limited to journalists with Indigenous background, the judges highly focus on the representation of the Indigenous perspective.

* WIJA commission reserves the right to verify the eligibility of nominations.

Entry Fee

The fee is $200 per entry. Each nominator is allowed to submit a maximum of two entries under each category.

Submission Content

  1. Submission materials include the followings,
    • Online entry form including transcript
    • One-page cover letter
    • Video files in original broadcast quality (include intro)
  2. If entry is a series and include multiple reports (maximum 3 pieces), all reports should be included in one entry form; all videos should be combined in one media file.
  3. Reports should be submitted as its original format aired on the channel, including lead-in/introduction.
  4. Full English script and translation should be provided if the story is not produced in English.
  5. Multi-part or series entries must be limited to a maximum of 30 minutes total running time and must not include more than 3 segments in one series.
  6. Failure to properly submit all materials as requested will nullify the application.
Read the full WIJA 2014 Submission Guidelines next

Important Dates

Entry Deadline

Deadline for entry is January 31, 11:59 p.m. CST (UTC/GMT +8 hours)

Broadcast Period

Entries for WIJA 2014 must be reports published or broadcast between November 1, 2011 and October 31, 2013.


Finalists of WIJA 2014 will be announced on WITBN website in May 2014. All finalists will be notified by email.

Award Gala

WIJA 2014 award gala dinner will be held during WITBC 2014 in Winnipeg, Canada. Visit the WITBC 2014 website.

WIJA 2013 Winners

Ready to submit your stories to the 2014 World Indigenous Journalism Awards?

If you have any questions regarding WIJA 2014, contact our staff at